Colorado Sex Offender Registration Attorney in Denver, Colorado
Registration on the Sex Offender Registry is required by Colorado and federal law for almost all sex related offenses and designed to allow government authorities to track the activities and whereabouts of convicted sex offenders.
Philip M. Smith, Denver Attorney
Registration Sex · Offender Registration
Free Consultations · Call (303) 333-8900 · E-mail
If you have been convicted of a sex offense you will be required to register with the law enforcement agency in the jurisdiction where you live. If you have more than one residence you are required by law to register in the jurisdiction of each residence. One must register within five business days after release from incarceration or after entry of judgment and sentence. Temporary residence for sex offenders must also register within five days of arrival in Colorado. Even those receiving a Deferred Judgment and sentence must register.
Philip M. Smith has over 32 years of legal experience as a
istrict attorney, judge, and a private attorney
practicing in all areas of criminal defense law.
Colorado Bureau of Investigation maintains a database of all persons required to register. The information CBI keeps and can release includes identifying information, address and photographs of sex offenders. Further, CBI is required to make information available on the Internet identifying those found to be sexually violent predators or any person convicted of two or more sex offenses or crimes of violence and any person convicted as an adult who fails to register. You will be required to notify law enforcement of any changes in residence or occupants in your home.
Some sex offenders have additional requirements and those vary significantly. Depending on the offense, a sex offender may have terms of registration from 5, 10, 15 and 20 years to a life time term of registration. Some sex offenses require reporting to the sex offender registry every 90 days or once a year on your birthday. There may also be restrictions about living near schools or even living with your children. If a sex offender moves out of state they must deregister in the present jurisdiction and re-register in the new place of residence.
There may be additional requirements set forth by probation or parole conditions.
Call my Denver Colorado office today for a free confidential consultation
Denver Attorney Philip M. Smith
The following persons must register as sex offenders if:
- They were convicted on or after July 1, 1991 for unlawful sexual offense, enticement of a child or Internet luring of a child;
- They were convicted on or after July 1, 1991 in another state or jurisdiction of an offense that would constitute unlawful sexual offense, enticement of a child or Internet luring of a child if it were committed in the state Colorado;
- They were released on or after July 1, 1991 from Department of Corrections of Colorado or any other state after serving a sentence for unlawful sexual offense, enticement of a child or Internet luring of a child;
- On or after July 1, 1994, they were convicted of or received a deferred sentence in the state of Colorado or any other state of an offense involving unlawful sexual behavior.
Contact my Denver Law Office
If you have questions or concerns about Colorado’s Sex Offender Registry or Failure to Register on the Sex Offender Registry, please call my office, Philip M. Smith, Criminal Defense Lawyer, 303-333-8900 for a free confidential consultation today.